Windows 7 Pro gets nag patch KB 4524752 with a couple of eerily familiar registry keys
Sharp-eyed AskWoody reader @Zathras sounded the alarm last night: The Win7 Pro “support notification” urging you to upgrade to Win10 has arrived.
It’s KB 4524752 and the Knowledge Base article says:
After 10 years of servicing, January 14, 2020 is the last day Microsoft will offer security updates for computers that run Windows 7 Service Pack 1 (SP1). This update enables reminders about Windows 7 end of support.
This update is available through Windows Update. If automatic updates are enabled, this update will be downloaded and installed automatically on devices running Windows 7 Professional.
Remember how we never really figured out back in May which Win10 Home machines were getting the nag and why it appeared as Optional on some machines, Important on others, and not at all occasionally? Same thing’s happening here. Zathras says it appears on his machine as Recommended. But an anonymous poster right after him says it’s marked Important.
On my Seven Semper Fi machine, it’s Optional but italicized.
A quick primer for those of you who forgot. In Win7 Update, you have two categories — Important and Optional. The ones marked Important are installed when you run an update. The ones marked Optional have to be checked before they’ll be included in the update run. Optional updates have two flavors — italicized (which means they’re Recommended but Optional) and straight-faced (which means they’re optional Optional, I guess). But they won’t get installed unless you check them.
The Knowledge Base article goes on to say:
Devices in managed organizations will not receive notifications. After it is installed, this update will run additional checks and will not show a notification on domain-joined devices, devices in kiosk mode, or devices that previously turned-off free upgrade notifications through registry settings.
Devices that do not meet this criteria will see a notification but can disable future reminders by selecting Do not notify me again in the lower-left corner of the notification, and then close the…